Elections to the Council of Governors

As a Foundation Trust we have more freedom from central government control, though we remain fully part of the NHS. Foundation Trusts are duty-bound to deliver free care, based on need, not ability to pay, but they area more accountable to the local community. This is because local people and staff can become members of the Trust and elect representatives to serve on the Council of Governors or even stand for election as a governor themselves.

2018 Election of Governors Results

The WMAS Governor Elections were held between Monday 3rd September and Thursday 29th November.

Nominations were sought in the following electoral areas in the Public Constituency: Birmingham, Black Country, Coventry & Warwickshire, Herefordshire, Shropshire & Worcestershire and Staffordshire. The results are set out below:

All newly elected Governors will serve from 1st January 2019.

Constituency  Governor Elected
Birmingham Peter Brookes
Black Country Julie Winpenny
Coventry and Warwickshire William Brown
Christopher O’Brien
Herefordshire, Shropshire and Worcestershire Helen Higginbotham
Staffordshire David Hardy
Daniel Pugh

Nominations were sought in the following electoral areas in the Staff Constituency:

Emergency & Urgent Operational Staff & Support Staff

Emergency & Urgent Operational Staff & Support Staff: Adam Aston has been elected.

Support Staff: Steve Elliker was re-elected.

The regulations governing this election can be obtained from Mi-Voice (address as below).

The Returning Officer for these elections was Tony Slater of Mi-Voice, Gamma House, Enterprise Road, Southampton SO16 7NS.